

Annual Summit 2024

Saturday, November 23rd, 2024

<u>Agenda</u>

Presiding Officer: **Rep. Angela Romero (UT)** President, National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL)

- I. Call to Order
- II. Notice of Meeting
- III. Roll Call

Representative Lilian Ortiz Self (WA) Secretary, National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL)

IV. Reading and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

V. Report of the BBA Chair

Jamie Oldani Director of State Government Affairs, Eli Lily & Company

VI. President's Report

Rep. Angela Romero (UT)

VII. Executive Director's Report

Kenneth Romero

Executive Director, National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL)

VIII. Treasurer's Report

Rep. Angel Matos

Treasurer, National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL)

IX. Review and Ratification of Resolutions:

<u>Consent Agenda</u>

• 2024-02 - Calling for Fair Wages for Court Interpreters Sponsor: Sen. Lorraine R. Inouye (HI)

Task Force: Government, Social Justice and Taxation – Rep. Leonela Felix (RI), CHAIR

 2024-04 - Policies for Wildfire Mitigation, Management and Resiliency
Sponsors: Rep. Angela Romero (UT), Rep. Angel Fourquet (PR), and Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado (IL)

Task Force: NHCSL Energy, Infrastructure and Environment Task Force– Rep. Eva-Dina Delgado (IL), CHAIR 2024-04 -

• 2024-05 - Enhancing Safety Standards for Baby Food and Mandating Compliance Disclosure of Toxic Heavy Metals Sponsor: Del. Deni Taveras (MD)

Task Force: NHCSL Healthcare Task Force- Rep. Alma Hernández (AZ), CHAIR

• 2024-06 - Mandating Seat Belts on All School Buses and Ensuring Compliance and Safety Measures in School Bus Sponsor: Del. Deni Taveras (MD)

Task Force: Education-Sen. Teresa Ruiz (NJ), CHAIR

• 2024-07 - Expanding Language Accessibility for Commercial Driver's Licenses Facilitating Inclusivity Sponsor: Del. Deni Taveras (MD)

Task Force: Government, Social Justice and Taxation – Rep. Leonela Felix (RI), CHAIR

 2024-08 - Removing Barriers to Access to Alternative Therapies for the Treatment of Pain Sponsored Sponsors: Sen. WInsvey Campos (OR), Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self (WA) and Rep. Louis Ruiz (KS)

Task Force: Healthcare- Rep. Alma Hernandez (AZ), CHAIR

 2024-14 - State-Managed Essential Medicines Virtual Reserve Inventory
Sponsors: Rep. Johanna López (FL), Sen. Carmelo Ríos Santiago (PR) and Sen. Gustavo Rivera (NY)

Task Force: NHCSL Healthcare Task Force– Rep. Alma Hernández (AZ), CHAIR

 2024-15 - Encouraging Familial Awareness of Type 1 Diabetes and Appropriate Screening Options to Detect Risk Sponsors: Rep. Alma Hernández (AZ)

Task Force: NHCSL Healthcare Task Force– Rep. Alma Hernández (AZ), CHAIR

 2024-16 - Secure Weapons Storage Sponsors: Sen. Flavio Bravo (AZ), Del. Ashanti Martínez (MD), Sen. Michael Brooks Jiménez (OK) and Rep. Angela Romero (UT)

Task Force: NHCSL Law and Criminal Justice Task Force– Sen. Antonio Maestas (NM), CHAIR

• 2024-17 - Updating Telecom Network Minimum Requirements Sponsors: Rep. Arturo Alonso-Sandoval (OK))

Task Force: Broadband and Technology– Rep. Arturo Alonso-Sandoval (OK), CHAIR

<u>Resolutions for Regular Discussion</u>

• 2024-01- Strengthen and Diversify the Educator Sponsors: Sponsors: Sen. Teresa Ruiz (NJ)

Task Force: Education – Sen. Teresa Ruiz (NJ), CHAIR

 2024-03 - Addressing Staffing Shortages in the Healthcare Workforce
Sponsor: Sen. Winsvey Campos (OR), Asm. Jessica González-Rojas (NY) and Rep. Louis Ruiz (KS)

Task Force: NHCSL Healthcare Task Force– Rep. Alma Hernández (AZ), CHAIR

 2024-10 - Affordability and Coverage of Reproductive and Transgender Healthcare
Sponsors: Asm. Jessica González Rojas (NY), Del. Joseline
Peña-Melnyk (MD), and Sen. Teresa Ruiz (NJ)

Task Force: Healthcare– Rep. Alma Hernandez (AZ), CHAIR

• 2024-12 - Supporting Responsible Development and

Deployment of Artificial Intelligence

Sponsor: Rep. Christopher Rosario (CT)

Task Force: Broadband and Technology– Rep. Arturo Alonso-Sandoval (OK), CHAIR

 2024-13 - Healthy Universal School Meals Sponsors: Rep. Geraldo Reyes (CT), Rep. María Isa Pérez Vega (MN), Sen. Leo Jaramillo (NM), Rep. Carlos González (MA), Sen. Adam Gómez (MA), Sen. Sonya Jaquez Lewis (CO), Asw. Sandra Jauregui (NV) and Sen. Luz Escamilla (UT)

Task Force: Education-Sen. Teresa Ruiz (NJ), CHAIR

X. Adjournment